NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

woman-hand-smartphone-desk

Happy new year everyone! And with this time of year comes us all making unrealistic resolutions for the next 12 months that will be inevitably given up on by the 2nd week of January, right? Well, I don’t think it has to be that way, and I’ve set myself a few, realistic, goals for the coming year that I hope will enhance my life in little ways.

Go to the gym at least 3 times a week

This is what happens when you suggest to your boyfriend to think of resolutions for each other! But in all seriousness this is something I would have chosen for myself anyway. I was quite good at going to the gym regularly before the festivities, but I want to make sure I stay motivated when I get back into my routine in the coming weeks and I think 3 times a week is definitely do able and gives me space for off days or weekends away without feeling guilty and packing the whole thing in!

Stay in better contact with friends

Once everyone disperses to various universities across the country or starts a career it can be really hard to keep up to date with everyone’s comings and goings. I know I could definitely improve on catching up with friends even if it’s just a quick text every now and then to check in. There’s a lot of people in my life I don’t want to drift away from so this is a must this year!

Read more books

When university work kicks in it can be really hard to take time for yourself and reading books for pleasure has been one of those things that has fallen by the wayside for me recently. But there’s nothing better than getting stuck in to a good book and I think it’s a great way of switching off for half an hour. I got my mum The Girl on the Train for Christmas and she hasn’t put it down since so I’m hoping I’ll be able to borrow that soon and reignite my love for reading!

Keep a diary

I used to be really good at writing in my diary when I was at school – just writing down any high school drama or boy trouble – and it was a great way of having a relaxing 10 minutes getting anything off your chest and sorting out your inner thoughts. I also love getting out my old diaries and reading through what I thought was the biggest deal in the world or reminding myself of days out or events I’d completely forgotten about! I’m not aiming to write every day, but I want to start writing down my thoughts and feelings as I know it really does help de-stress and will be lovely to look back on in years to come.

So there we have my hopes and targets for 2016! Good luck to everyone else trying to stick to any resolutions and may you make 2016 everything you want it to be! X

One thought on “NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

Leave a Reply

